Baked Potato Soup {Gluten Free Recipe}

A tea friend of mine gave me her recipe for baked potato soup about two years ago now. So here it is for all of you to try out and also adapt to make it your own:

5 lbs potatoes (russet or red bliss), peeled and diced in 1 to 2-inch chunks
1 teeny onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon seasoned salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon red pepper
6 cups chicken broth
2 cups Lapsang Souchong tea (I’ve found any quality Lapsang will do) or if you aren’t feeling adventurous use 2 cups of water
Crumbled bacon and green onion or chives as garnish

Optional (I always add them)

1 cup Sharp Cheddar Cheese

1 cup Monterey Jack Cheese

Use a 6 quart or larger slow cooker. Peel and dice the potatoes, and put them into the pot. Add onion and garlic. Sprinkle in the seasonings, and pour in the broth and tea. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours, or on high for 4. The potatoes should be fork-tender.

From here you have two options:

You can use a potato masher to mash the potatoes in the soup, or a hand-held blender. (WARNING Blending too long may lead to a mashed potato thickness) Here’s where the OPTIONAL bit comes in…this is where I like to add in the cheese to make it a little creamier. But you don’t have to at all, just a personal preference.

You can also leave the potatoes in chunks. I still add the cheese, but when I make it this way I add it with the garnishing items.

Garnish with crumbled bacon, green onion or chives. This one is a crowd pleaser!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.