No bun(s) in the oven…yet

I’ve been silent I know. But busy. I also have BIG news. No, don’t get all cray cray people. There is no bun in this here oven. We’re going to take a little break from that business for now. There are a few good reasons why.

Yours truly landed herself a new job yesterday! {insert flailing muppet arm here} Yup I start very soon. I’m excited AND it happens to be the start of my dream job working for a law firm focused on advocacy. That is all I will say on the topic for now. Sorry kids, but even some things should not be splashed all over the internets! As time goes on I may say more, but we’ll see.

In other Grey Hat news the hubbins and I are off to the Emerald Isle! That’s right kids we are headed to Ireland! I am beyond over the moon about this. We’re doing a driving tour and staying in some amazing castles and bed and breakfasts. And NO I won’t tell you when….no robbing my house people!

The hubbins sent me flowers at work!
The hubbins sent me flowers at work!

That’s right my hubbins is even more awesome! My dear friend Pesha of Flowers By Pesha was waiting for me when I arrived at work this morning with these lovely flowers. I am one LUCKY lady! Seriously, I’m sort of having the best week ever. But wait there’s more!

Wow, I sound like an infomercial. But today I picked up a travel book of Ireland (duh) and….AND a ukelele!!! I know what your thinking. Really? Or perhaps you might be thinking Oh dear lord why? Well, I like it. Plus I’ve wanted one for a while and it was also my paid off one loan gift/new job gift to myself! Also the hubbins said I could. He even let me tinker on it in the car. Now I have NO idea how to play it, but that’s what youtube is for.

Pay no attention to my WHITE legs. They may blind you.
Pay no attention to my WHITE leg. It may blind you.

Special thanks to Amanda Palmer (who I’m sure does not read this blog) for getting the idea into my head in the first place. She’s fantastic!

Which in an odd way brings me back to the next amazing thing on my list of cool things this week. The hubbins, some friends, and I are going to see NEIL GAIMAN tomorrow night! I am beyond excited. He’s going to talk about his new book The Ocean at the End of the Lane and some other things. Mr. Gaiman will also be signing a copy of his new book and if time permits another of his books we might want to bring!

I also have bridesmaid duties to attend to Friday evening for a bit. The niece is coming to stay and oh right I’m getting my 4th tattoo! I’m not going to tell you what it is. You’ll see it soon enough!

I’ve got a pretty jam packed week ahead and I am loving it!

In other news you still have time to enter my GIVEAWAY! To enter just comment on the blog post with what you want to be entered to win.

Whew, that was a lot. I’m going to go tinker on my new ukelele which I have named Islington. I don’t know why, but there you have it. My soprano ukelele is named Islington. I wonder if I could get Neil Gaiman to sign it?

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.

6 thoughts on “No bun(s) in the oven…yet”

  1. Lots of great exciting news. So happy for you. You might want to ask Ken Macbeth for some pointers with your new musical acquisition

Comments are closed.