40-love or how this isn’t really about tennis…yet is..

Yes, yes I was trying to be cute with my post title tonight. But when I looked up tennis scoring I was surprised to see there was no 35 score, just 15, 20, 30, 40, and 60. Who knew? Clearly not me.  Anywho, my birthday was yesterday and I turned the big 3-5. An age I was taking rather hard in the months, weeks, and days leading up to July 24th.

But why? Well, for starters I feel like there’s a lot I haven’t done yet. You know like had a baby or three, finished that musical I started, published that novel I finished, the little things… But then the day was here and suddenly none of that really seemed to matter. Why? Because life doesn’t end at 35. In fact I think I actually believe the opposite to be true for me….life STARTS at 35. I have some crazy feeling that this year is my year to get it together and take control.

So I’m starting with the little things like washing my make-up off every night no matter how tired I am. Yep I was that girl who just left everything on and went right to bed. Probably not a smart move. I’ve started getting religious about my vitamin taking too. Plus generally taking care of myself.

Which brings me in a way to the tennis. I went to the doctor Tuesday night as I’d been having some joint pain for a while now. Turns out I have tennis elbow in BOTH elbows! Which I find super amusing seeing as I’m not an athletic person at all. Far from it in fact. I mean if you see me running…call the police because someone is chasing me! But apparently you can get this by doing something a stupid as carrying your heavy grocery bags on your arms…GUILTY. Downside it sucks, upside Flexeril!

In actual sports related injury news I get a call from my mother last night to call her back as it was very important. The way she’s talking it sounded like someone died…nice Mom. Turns out my little sister took a soft ball to the cheek during her softball game. But she shrugged it off b/c she’s that much of a badass. It was the line-drive to the eye a few innings later that sent her to the ER via ambulance! She’s ok, I mean her eye looks like she went 20 rounds with the champ…but she’ll have surgery to fix the orbital fracture and be good as new in a few weeks.

I of course told my sister had she come out with us for my birthday none of this would ever have happened. To which she laughed and agreed. But at least she’ll be ok. In fact she didn’t want my mother to tell me because it was my birthday and I was out having a good time. Which was super sweet of her, but I would have been super pissed if no one told me until today.

Oh! I’ve also been celebrating my birthday all week! Take a look!

Monday!
Monday!
Tuesday!
Tuesday!
BIRTHDAY! (aka Wednesday)
BIRTHDAY! (aka Wednesday)
Thursday
Thursday

My birthday is turning into an all week thing. Some people I know take the whole month. So I think I’m being pretty good people. So on my actual birthday this happened on Twitter and I nearly died when it did…

OMG OMG!!
OMG OMG!!

Yeah, um I asked for a potential birthday shout out, pretty please with glitter on top and you can see my friend Hazy also asked Ms. AFP for a shout out….and well she delivered!! That’s right Amanda Palmer wished me a Happy Birthday (ok BIRFDAY)!! I’m still smiling. Wednesday evening the Hubbins and some friends and I went out for eats and frozen yogurt AND I got presents!!

My friends ROCK!
My friends ROCK!

Booze, monies, fancy soaps, and gift cards…hello awesome! The Hubbins got me some jewelry, and a lot of Vera Bradley stuff. He had wanted to surprise me with something, but didn’t because I picked out all this Vera stuff…well had he said he was going to surprise me I clearly wouldn’t have….of well there’s always next year right?

I have to tell you I thought 35 was going to suck, but so far…two days in I find it to be pretty dang awesome! Even if, according to the Hubbins, I am halfway to 70 (thanks for that reminder). But it was a good reminder. It means life isn’t over and I still have plenty of sets left to play!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.