Freedom Tea a {@StylinTeaBlends} Review

Stylin’ Tea Blends asked me via Twitter if I’d be willing to try out this blend for a cause and review it. I agreed. I hadn’t had a tea to review in a while and I was feeling out of practice. Plus free tea is always good. It just arrived in the mail yesterday….AND the mailman was good enough to not leave it on the porch as it was raining. Thanks buddy! I had to review the tea from Royal Tea of Kenya first because it arrived first. But I couldn’t wait to try this tea too. Come to find out its a tisane comprised of: green and red Rooibos, lemon myrtle, lemon verbena, lemongrass, and vanilla.

I was still excited as I do love caffeine free teas too. Usually before bedtime or when I’m feeling under the weather. Plus this is one of their Teas for a Cause. The particular cause in question is the International Justice Mission.  IJM “is a human rights agency that brings rescue to victims of slavery, sexual exploitation and other forms of violent oppression.” (from the IJM website) Feel free to read more by clicking the above link.

Now I’ve never tried any of their teas. So this was a brand new to me company. I see from their website they acquired this particular tisane from a Canadian company – Aromatica Fine Teas and Soaps – check them out too. I gathered up all my needed tea making tools and got to work.

The tea of course, my Takeya Iced Tea Maker, and two mugs, one with ice and one without.
The tea of course, my Takeya Iced Tea Maker, and two mugs, one with ice and one without.

So I cracked open the bag and was hit right in the sniffer with a strong smell of lemon. Normally this would put me off. Only because it would be a reminder of house cleaning that needed to be done. But there was also the softer hint of Rooibos coming out to play too. Which was nice as too much lemon generally makes me not want to try a tea or tisane. I took 6 tbsps of the tisane and added them to the filter thingy as I waited for the water to boil. Once it did I poured it over the tisane and set the timer for 5 minutes. Once ready I poured half a cup into one mug and the other half over ice in another mug. The rest went to chill out in the fridge.

Waiting for the tisane.
Waiting for the tisane.
With tisane - hot and iced.
With tisane – hot and iced.

Hot – this is a very soothing cup to have perhaps before bedtime or better yet when you find yourself under the weather. The lemony scent did wonders on my sinuses, which are currently NOT enjoying warm weather allergies. After a few sips I added a little vanilla sugar in an attempt to bring the vanilla flavor out to play a little more. It worked! This addition added a touch of sweetness and even made the tisane a little smoother.

Iced – I found there was less of the lemon flavor/scent and more Rooibos. Making it a very cool and refreshing drink for a hot Summer day. But iced it’s not a tea for me. My Hubbins on the other hand loved it and polished off what I didn’t finish. Which is good as I don’t like teas or tisanes to go to waste. He said it was refreshing and he liked the mix of flavors. So in a way this tisane wins with both of us.

I think my preference for it as a hot tea is that I’m longing for those cool Fall days and nights when my tea and tisane drinking goes into overdrive. I still have one more to try from this company and I hope to give it a go tonight if the night gets cool enough. No, no I won’t tell you what it is…you’ll just have to wait!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.