Do me a solid…read this…and pass it on! {You just might save a life}

If you happen to be new to this here blog…welcome! And now I’m going to get unfunny for the rest of the post. Why? Because what I want to talk about is serious business. Did you know this week is Suicide Prevention Week? Well, now you know. Therefore…

(ok there will be some funny in this post)
(ok there will be some funny in this post)

Anyway, as most of you know I’ve had OCD for quite a while. But was only recently diagnosed with high anxiety that tend to come along with a good old fashioned panic attack. Always a “good” time let me tell you. I even take a generic of Lexapro (escitalopram and no the irony of the name of the generic is not lost on me) to attempt to keep me from getting said anxiety/panic attacks. Does it always work? No. But I’d say it does it’s thing 90% of the time.

So what does this have to do with Suicide Prevention Week? Well, it’s my way of showing you that ANYONE can have some type of mental health issue.

Very true!
Very true!

But not everyone seeks out help. Sadly instead of getting help some folks chose to end it all because they don’t know there are people they can talk to or services available to them.

But if they do know, even then they may not seek treatment because of the MONSTER stigma attached to mental health issues. Heck it even took me a month or two to get up the nerve to tell my family doc that something didn’t feel right and I needed help. No I wasn’t feeling suicidal, not at all. Just that even my doctor would not want to help me. But thankfully she did and prescribed the anti-anxiety meds AND connected me with a great psychologist. Who I might add thinks I might just have my anxiety under control. Wooo! BUT I still know I have a long way to go and I’m ready to dig in thanks to my many friends and family who love and support me.

So please, please don’t dismiss people when they may ask you for help or look like they may need help. Reach out to them, and offer them any help you might be able to give. You might just save someone’s life.

Here are a few handy resources to have, just in case you or someone you know needs them:

Lifeline – this is the National Suicide Prevention Hotline

This link takes you to another area on Lifeline’s site that lists ways to get help via social media sites like Facebook and others.

Many thanks to The Bloggess for sharing all of this and more information on her own blog. You should go check it out!

Thanks for reading and sharing.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.

4 thoughts on “Do me a solid…read this…and pass it on! {You just might save a life}”

  1. As a follower of your blog, I appreciate your openness in sharing your personal experiences with mental health issues as well as some of those that others may have more difficulty sharing publicly. That being said, and not wishing to activate any sort of anxiety or panic attack, I find it interesting that this post comes so closely on the heels of one on which you and a friend had been “talking about someone we both knew and suddenly I burst out with ‘She went from bat to shit in no time,'” in fact referencing the level of “crazy” of someone else. While I am unaware of the exact situation or the person being referenced, it seems to me that the entire “bat shit crazy” concept, however cleverly abbreviated (and it was) only served to continue to propagate the negative stigma regarding mental health issues regarding the person who may have come to the end of their rope and had no one left to turn to besides you – who have now shared with another person who knows them the fact that they are undergoing trauma in their life currently, further ostracizing them from society rather than providing the support that they need. Perhaps, rather than sharing that the person “went from bat to shit,” it would have been more appropriate to share they are going through an exceedingly difficult time and could use some kindness and support from others. It is so easy to offer support online…but to offer support and friendship in person is much more difficult. Perhaps you could make a bigger difference in the world than you would ever know, something as simple as friendship could save a life as well.

    1. Thank you for pointing this out. Alliw me to give a little background…this was not in reference to the present. But rather when we were in college (over seven years ago) and this person when things got too quiet around campus…would turn up the drama in about two seconds flat.

      It was a poor choice of words and I’m sorry if I offended you or anyone else. I’ve taken down the post and plan to write an apology as soon as I get to an actual computer, rather than my phone.

      Yes, reading your comment did unfortunately bring about a panic attack. But I think on some level I deserved this one. Thank you for reading and I hope you stick around.

      1. The background makes all the difference to the previous post that you made. Rather than redacting the post, perhaps an edit is in order, giving said background. We all know drama llamas (my preferred choice of phrases, as it does not refer to mammas or queens which both refer to the female gender, and I’ve met PLENTY of men who can instigate drama just as quickly) but once people go throwing around the word “crazy,” and other incarnations thereof casually, it tends to be a trigger for at least myself and many others I have met. Without any timeline, it could have been someone that you two gal pals currently knew, which is why I was surprised by the seeming pride of the post followed by the helpful tips given here.

        That said, your panic attack gave me a panic attack, because I wasn’t meaning to attack you, I was merely thoroughly confused, and thought the matter to be something quite current. Xanax, anyone? One, two, three, pop a pill!

        I just felt I could not stay silent, as I have suffered from that label personally when others didn’t care to take the time to ask what was wrong or offer assistance when I was in situations that sound like a cliche of a country song – lost my dog, lost my man, lost my truck, lost my house…cause my man took the dog in the truck and towed away the house. Not exactly, I’ve never had a truck or a house that was that mobile unless you count a tent, but everyone seems to expect you to just smile and go through your day as though nothing has happened. At that point, I think anyone would start flinging guano at all the happy people around them.

        I appreciate the clarification, I intended to stick around anyway as I figured this was one of those Internet miscommunication errors, and NO ONE deserves a panic attack. They suck, you can’t tell if you’re actually having a heart attack and going to die, or if you’re just, you know, panicking. I’ve been up all night with mine, so if my reply isn’t quite coherent, it’s either the Xanax or the panic or the sleeplessness. I probably should have taken Prince Valium instead.

      2. I could add the post back, but I agree with your first post that it could be taken in a hurtful manner by the mental health community. Now I feel bad that you too had a panic attack.

        You were right…simple as that for me. I’m glad you called me on it. It was a slip I shouldn’t have made. I’m glad you’ll be sticking around. I’m happy to have some lively conversation on my blog! 🙂

Comments are closed.