When I’m wrong, I say I’m wrong…

A week or so ago I titled a post “She went from bat to shit in no time flat”. Yesterday, I posted about Suicide Prevention Week and my own mental health concerns in dealing with anxiety. Well, one of my readers called me out on the older post for good reason. It sounded as though I was making fun of someone with mental health concerns and thus adding to the stigma.

I was not. What I did was fail to give context in the post. That the comment was in reference to a time (college) and person we both knew in then (over seven years ago) who had the ability to be overly dramatic when things got a little too quiet in the dorm. My use of “she went from bat to shit…” was in poor taste no matter how funny I thought it was at the time or if any of you found it funny. I probably should have used something else, but that was the first thing that came to mind and without thinking I ran with it.

If I caused anyone to feel uncomfortable or shamed, or anything I apologize. I would also like to apologize to the mental health community. I am grateful every day that I am able to see the therapist I do and have friends who I can share my ups and downs with my own anxiety with as well as be there when they need someone to listen. I also apologize to the person I was talking about in the other post…we don’t talk anymore, but if you happen to read this I apologize if I offended you. To my readers, I also apologize if I offended any of you with my poor attempt at humor. In the future I will chose my words more carefully and try to dial down the sarcasm.

To the reader who called me out on this. Again I thank you! It’s nice to know someone is reading what I write and not afraid to call me out when I’m wrong.

I have also removed the offending post from the blog. Thanks again for reading and I hope you all stick around to keep reading.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.