Mariachi Murder by D. R. Ransdell {Book Reveiw – @dr_ransdell}

This book review is WAY overdue folks.  Why?  Well, I think because it was a book I had to read.  Now I did want to read it too…don’t get me wrong.  But because I was asked to review it I felt much like the Niece when it comes time to do homework.  I didn’t want to read it, instead I wanted to read other books that came into my possession.  In the Niece’s case she’d rather play her DS, but you get the idea.

I finally forced myself to sit down and finish the last 100 pages this weekend.  For two reasons.  I’ve had the book since the end of July!  I’m leaving for vacation in two days and I really wanted to get this review done before I leave.  Ok there is a third reason…I still don’t want to start packing…so finishing this book won out.

The book Mariachi Murder came out in May of this year.  I have a first edition copy…how cool is that? I understand this to be the debut novel by D. R. Ransdell.  First off I have to say I’m pretty impressed whenever anyone gets their first novel published.

Now about the book, I will admit this was a little slow to start off for me.  But the main character, Andy was easy to relate to.  Andy has trouble with women, seems to live from paycheck to paycheck, and is loyal to his friends.  Basically you find yourself really pulling for him throughout the story.  I was a little concerned I wouldn’t “get” the book as there was a lot about Mariachi music and the culture of being in a Mariachi Band.  Never fear Ms. Ransdell explains it all in the context of weaving this story.  By the end I felt like I could hear the music that Andy and the bad were playing in the restaurant.

Mariachi Murder follows Andy as he does his boss a favor….keep an eye on his wife while he’s out of town.  Seems an easy enough thing to do.  Trouble is the wife, Yiolanda, is young, beautiful, and a huge flirt.  It would seem Andy has his work cut out for him.  But for Andy things only get worse as a series of murders seem to follow wherever Yolanda goes!  Question is…is Yiolanda to blame for them or is there someone else to blame?  I’ll leave that for you to find out should you wish to pick up Mariachi Murder.

Enjoy!
Enjoy!

I can only guess there are more novels planned for Andy.  I enjoyed following his development as the main character in this story.  I’d love to see what else gets thrown at him after this first novel.  If you’d like to follow the author please visit her on the web here.

My thanks to D. R. Ransdell for sending me a copy to review.  My apologies for taking so long to review!

Rating: 4 out of 5 Hats (five being the best).

If you would like me to review your book please contact me.  You can find my contact information in the About/Contact tab.  I promise not to take three months to review!

Disclaimer: I was not paid for this review.  The author was kind enough to send me a copy for my honest review.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.

1 thought on “Mariachi Murder by D. R. Ransdell {Book Reveiw – @dr_ransdell}”

  1. Many thanks, Gal in the Grey Hat! I appreciate the close read. I do love mariachi music, and if one of the things I can do is share an appreciation for that form of folk music, I’ve accomplished a lot.
    D.R.

Comments are closed.