Spotlight – T and J Soaps {@tandjsoap}

Every now and again I plan to put the spotlight on one of my favorite shops in the area.  This time we’re heading to Troy, NY.  I may not live their anymore, but they sure do have plenty of places and spaces that keep me coming back!

...T and J Soaps...
…T and J Soaps…

First up – T and J Soaps.  You can find the shop’s page on Facebook, there is also an Etsy Shop, and you can follow on Twitter @tandjsoap!

I’m not really sure how I found out about T and J Soaps.  But I think I must have noticed the business that used to occupy 271 River Street in Troy wasn’t there and now a soap shop was and I just wandered in.  However, it happened I’m glad it did.  I’ve found some great products in my many visits.

I have to say the soaps are by far my favorite.  There’s always something new that wasn’t there a week or two ago.  The soaps range in scent from traditional smells of Lavender and Oatmeal, Milk, and Honey (those three are in one bar kids) to wild scents like Ginger Ale, Cotton Candy, and even Raspberry Porter. That’s right, soap that really smells like beer!

These soaps are currently going through the curing process before they go on the shelf!
These soaps are currently going through the curing process before they go on the shelf!

Right the other products sold in the shop.  I must add that the shop always smells mighty awesome. Which I have to say usually helps pull folks in off the street too.  You’ll  find bath bombs, lip balms, lotions, and lotion bars (I call the bars perfume replacers).  All of these also come in an assortment of scents too!  Everything is handmade by shop owner Theresa Hovish Van Duyne.  Where she finds the time I will never know.  Plus if she’s tired from all the work she puts in….well you’d never know it. Theresa has always been super bubbly and just generally welcoming whenever I’ve been in her shop. I have to tell you it does have to do with the reason I keep going back!  But I’ll let some more of her products speak for themselves.

I keep one of these in my purse to freshen up with.
I keep one of these in my purse to freshen up with.
How could I forget the candles!?
How could I forget the candles!?
Plus other assorted goodies!
Plus other assorted goodies!

Tonight I enjoyed an oatmeal, milk, and honey bath bomb.  It was so relaxing even the cat was trying to get in the tub.  Thankfully he settled for laying down on the mat!  I’ll have to pick up a few more of these bad boys when I make another run to Troy!

To be really honest I could drop a small fortune in here and I may have last Christmas.  But all of her items are awesome.  I haven’t found one I don’t like.  Plus she’s sure to have something for everyone on your list.  For example you can also find items by local artists in the shop for sale too.  We scored a cute pair of Red Sox bottle cap earrings for our cousin a few months back and they were a huge hit!

So if you every find yourself in Troy, NY stop in and say hello.  You can also shop the Etsy shop if you find yourself nowhere near Troy.

Next time Enchanté Whole Leaf Teas – another Troy favorite!

 

 

Disclaimer: I was not paid in any way or asked to review this shop or the product they sell. by the owner. Any product(s) I endorsed I purchased myself.  However, I did let the owner of the shop know I would be writing about the shop and all photos were taken with permission of the shop owner(s).

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.