NaNoWriMo is coming…did you bring your pen and paper?

That’s right kids…NaNoWriMo is exactly one month away!  Are you ready?  Do you even know what the hell I’m talking about?  No?  Well, allow me to fill you in.

NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month – get it?  Basically you have one month to write 50K words or more!  It begins at midnight on November 1st and carries on through midnight on November 30th.  Also known as “Thirty days and nights of literary abandon!”  Last year, for the first time EVER I finished!!  I came in at a little over 50K and was so thrilled I finished!

Winner winner, chicken dinner!
Winner winner, chicken dinner!

What motivated me?  The Hubbins was a HUGE help in this department.  He would ask me about where I was in the story or sometimes even help me further the plot without even knowing it!  He also made dinner quite a few nights that month.  I also donated 50 big ones to the organization that puts this event on ever year.  This got me some fun swag items, plus pushed me to really put my money where my mouth was.  If I failed I saw it as throwing away $50 (even if it went to a good cause).

I also met a fantastic group of folks over on Facebook.  We have one of those super secret groups over there.  If you want in you’ll have to friend one of us.  But seriously it was a great way to keep folks motivated through the month.  We all checked in and shared lines from our novels.  Sometimes we batted around ideas with one another.  Well, sometimes we just procrastinated because that’s what writers do!  In fact we’ve kept our little group going the entire year…I’m really looking forward to what this year brings!

So what didn’t I like about NaNoWriMo?  My story is the only thing I really ended up not liking one bit by the end.  Half way through I had a much better idea come to mind.  But I was dammed if I was going to stop and try to start fresh in the middle of the month.  So I pushed through and finished a story I really wish would have stayed buried in my head….  Now I have one month to really workout and think about what I really want to write about.

Be it something brand new or perhaps taking the easy way out and writing a fanfiction. Whatever it is I need to put in a little bit of work this month to get the most out of next month!  Are you thinking of participating this year?  If so head on over here to sign up or to log on.  I hope you join in.  It really is a lot of fun…even if you don’t like the end product.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.

1 thought on “NaNoWriMo is coming…did you bring your pen and paper?”

  1. It is amazing how motivating NaNo is. I’m on my fall break and I’ve been waking up at 4:30 every morning so I can get as much of my coursework completed. I want to do NaNo so badly, but I won’t have time if I don’t.

    I can’t wait!

Comments are closed.