A note to my Little Sister – Sort of…

Another lovely reader suggested a short while ago that I write a post about how perfect my sister is.  Yes, that reader just happened to be my sister.  She’s just so modest.  But she had a point…no not on the perfect bit.  No one is perfect Little Sister!  But she is pretty darn awesome as far as little sisters go.  Take for example what she did for my wedding day.  You see folks Little Sister works for a local (awesome) bakery.  Top it off she offered as her wedding gift THE CAKE!

Nom!
Nom!

Let me tell you it was delicious!  Not so delicious a year later when we had a bit of the top layer on our first anniversary.  But I’m told they never are…ever!  Besides providing the cake as her gift to us she also served as one of my bridesmaids.  A turn I was happy to do for her just last year at her wedding.

My Little Sister and her Mister are huge fans of Saratoga Racetrack.  So much so that it served as the theme of their 2012 wedding!  In fact if you happen to be looking for them during track season…there’s only one place you should look.  Yup you guessed it at the track.  One Sunday they invited us all up to enjoy an afternoon playing the ponies.

Keeping it classy...
Keeping it classy…

We had a good time and heck I even walked out of there with $24 after only betting $10!  But it wasn’t really about watching the races or winning any money for me.  It was more about spending time with my Little Sister and the rest of the family.  I enjoy hanging out with her.  We don’t get to do so as much as I would like.  But when we do hang out I think we have a good time.  Which is all that matters, right?  Right!

I’m going to let you in on a little secret.  Are you ready?  We were not always this close.  Then again what siblings really are when they are under the age of 18?  From what I’ve seen and heard the answer is – not many at all.  It really wasn’t until my sister went to college that I think we finally really and truly got to know one another (the same is true for my brother).  Of course this did not mean I didn’t love them.  What it meant was they had stopped annoying me.

I think this is really how we felt about one another when we were kids.
I think this is really how we felt about one another when we were kids.

But now we call one another.  Go out to dinner together.  Heck we even have each other over for interesting games of Cards Against Humanity!  So interesting in fact that we refuse to share this game with our mother.  If you’ve ever played you will understand why!  I’ll say this about my sister…I’d truly be lost not having her in my life these days.  She’s been there for me on my best days and my worst.  Do we still irritate one another?  Of course it is THE unwritten rule of being a sibling.  But we usually don’t irritate one another to the point of calling for Mom to break it up…at least not recently.

Plus who else is going to post something as funny as this on your Facebook wall?  Yeah NO ONE!
Plus who else is going to post something as funny as this on your Facebook wall? Yeah NO ONE!

So thank you Little Sister for being you!  I wouldn’t change you for the world! Love your older and wiser Big Sister.

We were not as think as you drunk we were.
We were not as think as you drunk we were.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.

2 thoughts on “A note to my Little Sister – Sort of…”

Comments are closed.