Cead míle fáilte {Hundred Thousand Welcomes} Part 1

The time has come to tell the tale of our travels in Ireland.  So go on and pour yourself a pint of the good stuff or prepare an Irish coffee (with Jameson’s Whiskey), or perhaps a Bailey’s coffee and tuck in.  This one might take a little time.

We left last Tuesday October 1, but yet I kept posting…yeah those were all scheduled posts.  I don’t like to do that, but didn’t want you all to think I didn’t care while I was away.  I also didn’t want anyone looting my house.  So there we are.

So we flew out of JFK last Tuesday and even THAT was an experience!  Our train out of Albany was fine and I was even able to sleep…no thanks to the woman who was apparently a hot shot real estate agent.  Upon arrival in Penn Station we headed for the street and hailed a cab to the airport.  What a ride.  Yes, I know NYC cabbies know what they are doing…but it is a little scary watching them do it.  The Hubbins had to close his eyes a few times and I was right there with him!

But we arrived with plenty of time to spare before our 9pm flight.  Or so we thought.  Turns out that flight was delayed until 1am!  Which meant instead of arriving around 8am we would get in closer to noon.  It seems our plane had been hit by lightening!  But the luck of the Irish was on our side…there was a 5:30 flight.  Bad news we would now arrive in Dublin at 4:30am!!  Yikes.  We made the flight with 20 minutes to spare after we needed to clear TSA…always a joy.

Well, TSA was easy for me. I went right on through the scanner with no problem at all. While the Hubbins opted out and had to wait for a male TSA person to do the pat down thing.  I respect his wishes, but now we had no time to eat. I hoped there was food on the flight!  There was….and sadly it was nothing to write home about.  In fact it was down right disappointing.  I hoped there would be afternoon tea on the return flight.  I tried to sleep on the plane, but that didn’t happen as there were some awesome shows that I could watch on the way over.  You’ve already read about those….

Much cooler than US monies.
Much cooler than US monies.

Upon arrival in Ireland we headed for our bags and FINALLY scored a stamp in my passport!!  This makes me super happy.  Nerdy I know, but there you have it.  We also exchanged a bit of cash for Euros.  I wish our monies looked as cool.  Seriously.  Plus it’s all different colors and sizes so at least were you say visually impaired you could tell what you were giving out.  Just pointing that out US Mint!

So money exchanged and bags collected it was time to gather the car.  You know the car we would be driving in on the wrong side of the road (to us) for a week.  Now the butterflies started to gather in the Hubbins belly.  I was fine as I wasn’t driving.  That is until I was dubbed navigator.  This would probably not end well.

Thankfully it did once we got the hell out of Dublin.  The highlights of driving in Dublin included hitting the curb and driving down (a thankfully empty) pedestrian only street.  But having the GPS was super helpful and we soon found a place to part the car so we could get something to eat in Dublin.  Which meant Irish Breakfast: poached egg (not my favorite), back bacon (again I passed on this as the week went on), black pudding (not as gross as you might think), white pudding (awesome), sausage, fried tomato, and toast.  The breakfast we had in Dublin was kind of meh, but we were hungry and ate it.  Then we got lost on the way back to the car park and then got the hell out of there.  Once on the highway we felt more comfortable driving.  We were headed west toward County Mayo.

Me with our great little car at a stop off the highway.
Me with our great little car at a stop off the highway.

We stopped at a little rest area complete with showers in the rest stop…which was weird.  We picked up some water and soda…which I might add they use real sugar in their cola.  This I found to be awesome.  Tasted a little weird, but I preferred it to the crap we have here at home.

As you can see I look super goofy in the picture here, but I’m ok with that.  Seeing as I’d been up since 7 the morning before.  But we had finally made it!  We were IN Ireland!  I should also mention we’d made it driving in Ireland for more than an hour at this point. So we were feeling pretty good.  Plus the Garmin had finally decided to remove it’s head from it’s arse and start working.  So we were well on our way to our first castle…Kilronan Castle in County Roscommon!

Ta-da! A rest stop!
Ta-da! A rest stop!
And the Hubbins!
And the Hubbins!

Next time….I’l cover days 1-3 in Ireland…stay tuned.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.