And now for another game of what the heck!

I was back at my rheumatologists office this afternoon for a follow up visit.  The last visit in September found nothing funky with any of my blood work.  However, in that two month period I’ve gained 5.7lbs!  This is weird for me because I could never gain weight…ever!  Plus in the last 3-4 months I’ve gained 18lbs.  Again SO not normal for me.  Could it be that going totally gluten free has finally repaired the years of damage I was probably doing to my small intestine?  Maybe.  But even the rheumatologist finds this to be odd.

So I knew the trip would end in a trip to the lab.  But first and ultrasound of my left knee.  It seems I have a few small pockets of fluid built up on my knee.  Which means I’m getting a sweet anti-inflammatory drug to take for a while.  Awesome.  So my trip to the lab was for two things…hypothyroidism.

I could check off a few of those.
I could check off a few of those.

But wait for it…we’re also testing me for Lyme Disease AGAIN!  Would it surprise me if I had it again?  Nope, that’s just the way my luck works out people.  Apparently I’m delicious.  Good to know.  That little two fold test will take at least a week to get back.  I also think she’s checking for any other Lyme like diseases too.  At least she’s covering all the bases for me.  Which is good and why I like her.

In other doctor related news I’m going to see a new OB/GYN soon.  Sad news is when I told my old OB’s office this they didn’t seem to care that a patient of 20 years was heading elsewhere.  Felt a little like here’s your hat, what’s your hurry.  But I just took it as a sign that is was really time to move on.  So we’ll see.

The doctors appointment fun continues tomorrow with a trip to the opthamologist.  Which means I won’t be able to see squat for a few hours after the fact.  This also means I will no doubt be given an Rx for new glasses that I won’t be able to see.  Hopefully I won’t pick out something like this…

No thanks.
No thanks.

Stay tuned!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.