Who doesn’t like good news?

I promised an update.  But first…I saw this little gem on my Twitter feed when I stopped by this here page and had to share.

This was from the Ask Smaug bit over on Twitter earlier this afternoon.  Swoon!
This was from the Ask Smaug bit over on Twitter earlier this afternoon. Swoon!

Yes, yes that is Benedict Cumberbatch…oh sorry was side tracked for a moment.  Where was I?  Oh right my latest doctors appointment.  So I switched to a new ob/gyn and had my first visit yesterday.  Nope not pregnant, but he seems to think we shouldn’t have too many issues when we want to try again.  Turns out having the Trisomy 16 turn up was a blessing.  First off there was nothing I could have done to carry a baby to term with an extra 16th chromosome.  A baby with that defect can’t survive.  My new doctor also thinks that it is HIGHLY unlikely that I will have another pregnancy where this will happen.

New plan is to obviously get pregnant.  But before I do be sure to take my prenatal vitamins, extra folic acid AND start taking a “baby” 81mg aspirin tablet a day.  Once we get pregnant call the doctor asap so we can plan the next steps which may involve some extra progesterone for a bit.  But hey it’s better than what the local fertility folks told me…IVF is your only way to go.  No thanks, I can get pregnant people.  So fingers crossed.

Told you it was good news.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.