Non Vegan Scramble {Gluten Free Eats}

The lovely Zee Lemons had a great looking recipe for a Vegan Tofu Scramble a few weeks ago and I wanted to try something like it (Clicky her name for the vegan recipe).  However, our market had a pretty sad selection of Swiss Chard! So I had to go with peppers instead.  Actually this recipe is pretty Vegan until the end…

You will need

  • 1 red pepper and 1 orange pepper (chopped)
  • 1/2 white onion (chopped)
  • 1 block extra firm tofu (crumbled)
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • turmeric and paprika to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • brown and serve sausage (the NOT Vegan part of this)

Sauté the veggies in extra virgin olive oil (EVVOO).  Once all veggies are translucent, crumble in the tofu (I just chopped the heck out of it) and add in the spices, to taste of course.  Per the instructions from Zee Lemons now you should add in a 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of water to keep the tofu soft like regular eggs.  Now turn up the heat and let the water burn off.

While I was doing this I tossed the brown and serve sausages into the microwave and prepped them for the mix.  Once cooked I cut them into pieces and added them back to the pot to mix in with the rest of the goodies.  Clearly my way is SO not vegan.  But if you take out the sausages then boom instant Vegan goodness.  For me the bonus is that all this is gluten free!

I know my husband won’t eat it…he’s not a tofu kinda guy.  So I made enough to take a bit with me each morning to work (you know if I get up to late to heat up a portion for myself here).

Eat all the things!  I had a few spoonfuls to taste it and had to stop myself!
Eat all the things! I had a few spoonfuls to taste it and had to stop myself!

Frankly, knowing this is in the fridge MIGHT get my butt out of bed when I should be getting out each morning.  You know instead of hitting the snooze button!  So enjoy!

 

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.