I made all of this! {In under an hour.}

Last night at the market we mostly shopped the perimeter of our local Hannaford.  Which makes me happy and also hurts my wallet.  BUT I managed to make a week or more worth of lunchtime yummy in my tummy eats!  I can say this because I sampled everything as I finished each dish.  So here’s what I made in under an hour….oh and it’s all gluten free and almost all Vegan!

Crunchy Asian Cabbage Salad

It tastes amazing even if it doesn't look amazing.  Thanks avocado!
It tastes amazing even if it doesn’t look amazing. Thanks avocado!

You will need:

  • 1/2 head of red (purple) cabbage chopped
  • 1 avocado chopped
  • 1/2 a package of firm tofu cut into cubes
  • 1 large package of button/shiitake mushrooms (rinsed and chopped)
  • sesame seeds
  • soy sauce to taste
  • sesame oil to taste

Go to town chopping everything up (grab a BIG bowl – trust me).  Once chopped add the soy sauce, sesame oil, and sesame seeds to taste.  Then mix the heck out of this.  Store it in a container with a lid and pop in the fridge and enjoy.  Looking at the photo now…I should have added some shredded carrots to this too.  Oh well, next time!

Next up on the hit parade…. Cabbage, Tofu, Orange Pepper….Oh My (with a coleslaw dressing)

Oh holy yummy!
Oh holy yummy!

You will need:

  • 1/2 head of red (purple) cabbage chopped
  • 1 orange pepper cut to taste (I went with chunks of pepper)
  • 1/2 a package of firm tofu cut into cubes
  • Marie’s Coleslaw Dressing (I’m just a little, ok a lot lazy)

Basically you make this one similar to the salad above.  Chop everything up to your liking and then toss in the coleslaw dressing.  Mind you adding the dressing here (which contains eggs) probably negates this one being totally vegan.  BUT the asian salad is totally vegan.  Not that I chose to eat like a vegan….I’ve got a steak currently marinating in some soy….but sometimes veggies are just the way to go!

So there you have it folks.  Dig in!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.