I rise

I was saddened to hear of the passing of Maya Angelou today.   I recall reading I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings in middle or high school and not “getting it” at the time.  I also recall re-reading it years later and finding it hit me right in the feels.  I then went out and bought up a lot of her poetry.  Which I now see I need to re-purchase as I don’t know where it’s gone in the many moves I’ve had since 2002.  Oh darn, I have to buy amazing poetry by an amazing woman.

I’ll leave you all with this bit of one of her famous poems because it is beautiful.

You may write me down in history With your bitter, twisted lies, You may trod me in the very dirt But still, like dust, I’ll rise.

– Maya Angelou, Still I Rise

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.