Come out to the country they said, you can sleep in they said.

Saturday I took my momma out for her belated Mother’s Day outing in Troy.  We went to my new favorite spot for eats, The Whistling Kettle and my mother loved it.  But all that may be for another post at another time.

This post is about my overnight visit at my folks place out in the middle of freaking nowheresville.  They love it, me I’m a city girl.

It's "kinda" like this, but not really.
It’s “kinda” like this, but not really.

Before my momma drove out to visit me and leave the niece with the mister she called to ask if I wanted to come out and spend the night.  We had family coming but and well, it would be nice if I was there.  Plus my mister has the cold of death so it might be a nice break from cough city.  Needless to say I packed a bag.  After our short trip to Troy we swung back to my house to grab the kid and my bags.

Of course my head was pounding on the way out to their place so I opted to skip out on movie night (How To Train Your Dragon 2) as that would not have been fun times and stay in to watch Frozen (pretty cute, but man was Prince Hans a DOUCHE).

SEE!
SEE!

I then took the time to enjoy use of the cable TV and binged on five episodes of L&O: Criminal Intent (omg I love that show, probably because Goren is basically Sherlock Holmes) and once momma got home, I enjoyed chatting with her during commercials.  We chatted mostly about the episodes “What’s this one again?”  “Are you sure I’ve never seen this one?”  We are BIG Law and Order junkies in my family, and by we I mean me and my momma.

Before I knew it, it was midnight and I was super tired.  So tired that I couldn’t watch through to the end of the Criminal Intent episode we were watching to find out the solution.  That’s tired people!  So I went to bed looking forward to sleeping in, even if it meant till 8am.  Then I remembered I would be sleeping in a twin bed.  You will never miss your big bed more until you find yourself in a twin.  The bed was comfy, but SMALL.  I was in the nieces room as she opted to pass out on the couch….she just isn’t ready to hang with the big girls I guess.

It was a little like this but imagine more Bieber. *shudder*
It was a little like this but imagine more Bieber and less purple. *shudder*

I did seem to fall asleep pretty quick.  Usually, it is WAY too quiet for me to fall asleep easy out there.  I’m used to city sounds people.  You see the next thing I heard was the sound of three sets of toe nails tap dancing all over the kitchen floor with a small yip here and there, and my Dad talking to the dogs those feets and yips they belong to.  Which meant one thing, it was very close to 6am….NOOOOOO!  Sleeping in FAIL!

Think two dogs who look like these guys and a doxie/something mix to make up the third. (thank you internet as my phone doesn't want to sync...pos)
Think two dogs who look like these guys and a doxie/something mix to make up the third. (thank you internet as my phone doesn’t want to sync…pos)

My parent’s three dogs: Sadie, Fritz, and Jack were wide awake and ready to go!  I rolled over and tried to fall back asleep and damn near rolled off the bed.  But somehow I did manage to sleep for another two hours, yet also managed to wake up a few times too.  Which left me feeling not myself and very, very tired as the day wore on.

While yes I gripe, after all was said and done l I really did have a great time staying out there.  But I am happy to be home with my still sick mister, three quiet cats, and a much larger bed to sleep in!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.

2 thoughts on “Come out to the country they said, you can sleep in they said.”

Comments are closed.