Cead míle fáilte {Hundred Thousand Welcomes} Part 3

It’s been SO long since last I updated this.  Almost a year now!  You might be surprised that I actually recall the trip at all!  But to be honest it was one hell of an adventure and hard to forget!  When last we left the hubbins and I were heading south toward the Cliffs of Moher – a sight and site we were told we should not miss!  Off we went!

But first a stop off in The Burren.
But first a stop off in The Burren.

Now the drive through The Burren was FULL of twists and turns and legit “hair pin turns”.  The hubbins and I are not praying folks, but I know I blessed myself at least twice and he may have done so too!  We had already decided by this point that WHEN we go back to Ireland we want to spend a great deal of time in this part of the country.  There was so much to see we had to really pick and choose what we were to see.  Next stop lunch followed by the Cliffs!  I could tell you about the Cliffs, but I’ll let the photos speak for themselves.

This one is my computer wallpaper at work.
This one is my computer wallpaper at work.
This is one of my favorites of me on the whole trip.  I loved the wild things the wind did to my hair.
This is one of my favorites of me on the whole trip. I loved the wild things the wind did to my hair.
There's a path from the cliffs to the next town over...there is no safety fence of any kind!
There’s a path from the cliffs to the next town over…there is no safety fence of any kind!
One last shot of the cliffs. (We took so many)
One last shot of the cliffs. (We took so many)

We still had miles to go before we slept.  Next stop was Cashel, home of the Rock of Cashel and the home of our wildest host on the trip, Patrick!  We arrived sometime around 7pm and caught him as he was heading out to “have a good crack, but not that stuff you smoke. No that’s the weed I’ll be having.”  Yep he was a pisser!  We just sort of smiled and nodded at Patrick as he drove off for the night and wondered if he might even come back!

We found the BEST bar that night – Penny Lane and saw the Wigwam Glam Band!  They were a cover band of sorts with makeup like KISS, but dressed in flashy disco like shirts.  Hands down one of the best night life spots on our stop.  So good that we headed back there the next night!

But indeed he did and we enjoyed breakfast with him and found that everyone staying there were his “cousins”.  We were the “American Cousins”, but there were “British” and “Australian” ones visiting too…who knew I had so many relatives.  But he sent us on our way after breakfast to have “good fun” or “good stuff” depending on where we were headed.  That day we were headed for The Rock of Cashel.  Which was home to the kings of Munster as well as a very lovely cathedral.

A copy of the Cross of St. Patrick
A copy of the Cross of St. Patrick
Cemetery on the grounds of the Rock. Townsfolk are still buried there today.
Cemetery on the grounds of the Rock. Townsfolk are still buried there today.

After seeing all the sights of the Rock we headed further south towards Cork, but we ended up in Blarney, like you do.  Though we weren’t after kissing the Blarney Stone.  No we heard the locals like to ahem, defile the stone at night when the grounds are all closed up.  Plus it was a pretty penny to visit, no thanks, maybe next trip!  So we went shopping for gifts instead at the Blarney Woolen Mills (Since 1825).  I scored a pretty wool coat, plus some goodies for the parents too.  We then took a drive along the coast and headed back to Cashel for the night.

In part four of our long overdue tale…I’ll tell you of our trip back to Dublin for our last night in Ireland.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.