“I was so alone, and I owe you so much” – Happy Birthday Mr. Sherlock Holmes

On January 6, 1854 Sherlock Holmes was “born”.  He is known as “the man who never lived, and will never die”.

As I’ve mentioned (a few times) my Pop introduced me to Sherlock Holmes one summer before my Junior or Senior year of high school. At the time I had plenty of friends, but still felt alone in a way.  But finding these books allowed me travel to London and solve crimes all without leaving the comforts of my own home.  I’ve had a relationship with Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson going on close to 20 years now this coming June.  Together they have seen me through it all…ups, downs, and everywhere in between.  In the past year they also lead me to meet folks that I am happy to call friend.  So I was indeed so alone, and do owe him (and of course creator ACD) so much.

As I mentioned earlier today is the great detective’s  birthday, his 161st to be exact.  Really he doesn’t look a day over what? Say 40?  In honor of this day I plan to watch an episode of the Granada Series with a cup of tea and a baked good of some kind (gluten free of course) and toast the man himself.

At least I imagine the cake would look something like this. (Thank you internet for not letting me down)
At least I imagine the cake would look something like this. (Thank you internet for not letting me down)

Once again… Happy birthday, Mr. Sherlock Holmes.  May there always be a crime for you to solve!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.