5 Fandom Friday: Five Times I Totally Fangirled #Fandom5

This is the first time I’ve participated, I *think*!  It’s something The Nerdy Girlie does every Friday and she invites others to participate. Fun right?  But also difficult to come up with for me.  I haven’t had the opportunity to meet many celebs or do cool fangirl things…but I’ll give it a go!

1. That time I met Neil Gaiman and he signed my ukulele!

Yep, the man himself signing my ukelele
Yep, the man himself signing my ukelele
Signed by the man himself!
Signed by the man himself!

We went to his talk and signing for The Ocean at the End of the Lane in 2013.  On a whim I brought my ukulele (why not right? I also brought the book to be signed too).  Everyone in our little group thought I was crazy for lugging it around.  Some attendees also poked fun at me.  But Mr. Gaiman found it very cool and happily signed it.

2. Meeting Lindsey Stirling at a meet and greet before her concert.

D., Lindsey and I.
D., Lindsey and I.

I was super star struck and only managed to eek out…. “OMG you are tiny! I could just put you in my pocket!”  Yup I am classy.  But she was super sweet and signed our stuff.

3. Meeting Minnie Mouse!

I was so nervous!
I was so nervous!

It may seem really silly, but I have LOVED Minnie Mouse for FOREVER.  There was a week (when I was five) that I demanded to be called Minnie and to dress like her.  My fangirling runs deep with Minnie.  Well, I finally got to meet one of the incarnations of Minnie when we went to Disney last year and I nearly took out the poor cast member in the costume – I was really excited ok.  Minnie blew me a kiss, we hugged it out, and then took this picture.  It makes me smile everyday.

4. Anytime Amanda Palmer has interacted with me on Twitter.

For my birthday!
For my birthday!
The RT that brought 700 hits to my blog!
The RT that brought 700 hits to my blog!

Amanda Palmer is one of my favorite musical people.  Somehow I manage to catch her online here and there…and it is glorious.  Thanks to another friend she once wished me a happy birfday and brought everyone to my blog.  I screenshot almost every interaction…I have a problem.  Don’t try to stop me.

5. Back when The New Kids on the Block were IT my cousin and I sat at a table they had eaten at 5 hours before.  Yeah I’m not proud of that one, but my 13 year old self is still bouncing around over it.

What’s made you fangirl over the years? Let me know!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.

1 thought on “5 Fandom Friday: Five Times I Totally Fangirled #Fandom5”

Comments are closed.