Happy birthday Momma!

Birthday funs for my mom went off without a hitch. Well, except the part where SHE DIDN’T know we were coming! The mister and I turned up around 12:30 and my momma was still in her pj’s talking to her mother. Seems I should not assume my sister has passed on such important details to people and just do it myself.

Good news is mom was of course thrilled to have us visit on her birthday. Plus hey we my sister was cooking…sweet and sour chicken over rice. OMG it was too die for. Yes, I may have even taken some home with me for dinner later this week. Damn she’s good. I’ll have to get the recipe from her as it was totally gluten free!

It looks confusing...it isn't.
It looks confusing…it isn’t.

We also played a few rounds of Qwirkle with The Niece. I got my ass handed to me twice. But it was fun. I like that we’ve become a board game playing family. Considering I always asked for, and got, games when I was younger. But no one ever really wanted to play. Now it’s good family bonding time with the joy of trash talk thrown in…of course.

The only thing missing was my brother. But he’s away for work and it couldn’t be helped. I did get to chat with him via mom when he called while we were all still there. Of course there was cake, not gluten free so I sadly had to pass.

It was nice to spend most of the day there to celebrate momma’s special day. Plus I didn’t have to cook OR clean up. Double bonus!

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.