The Sweetest Place on Earth!

The second part of our trip brought us to Hershey, PA because chocolate and pregnant women go together…it’s a thing, trust me. To my knowledge I have only been to Hershey once, for their winter festival thing. Which is nice but cold. This time it was melt all the chocolate hot! After checking in at the Hershey Lodge we headed up to Hershey Gardens (we had free tickets – sweet right?). The gardens were really pretty, but again I tire easily these days so we stayed an hour and change.

But we did get to see the butterfly house (more photos on the Facebook page)

I think these were Queen butterflies.
I think these were Queen butterflies.
I thought this one was really pretty too.
I thought this one was really pretty too.

We spent a lot of time with the butterflies. Sadly I didn’t get any to land on me or the bump. I won’t lie, I thought that would have made for one cute photo! Apparently in the summer there are over 500 butterflies in the butterfly house…that day there were probably over 100, but nowhere near 500.

As I said we didn’t spend to much time in the gardens because I was tired AND I could feel my allergies wanting to kick in. Considering I can’t take allergy meds right now staying longer or better yet sticking my face in the flowers would have been a bad idea. But we did get photos of a few sweet water features and hubs caught a photo of me playing bamboo…I think…

It's a heart! Awww.
It’s a heart! Awww.
Me in all my tired and sweaty glory.
Me in all my tired and sweaty glory.

Back to the hotel we went for drinks and dinner. Oh and game playing. Sadly we couldn’t get a couple sharing a table with us to play. Then again they weren’t bothering to talk to one another (just their phones)…lame. We planned out day two and I then called it a night.

Day two we went to visit the Hershey Story and Museum (again more free tickets from our hotel). It was interesting to learn a bit about Milton Hershey and all that yummy chocolate. After lunch we headed to Chocolate World! Which is basically where you buy ALL the chocolate. We did take the free tour of the factory – which you could hardly hear over three robotic cows singing some really annoying song. But hey free Kit Kat’s at the end (which went to my husband).

After the tour we decided to cough up the cash to make our own Hershey bar. Which while fun is not as hands on as you might think. Or as they lead you to believe. For example we were given plastic aprons and hair nets…which uh we didn’t need at all. It was more of a scan your ticket at this kiosk and press buttons. Then behind glass you got to watch your bar being made. Would have been much cooler if we could have added the mix-ins and chocolate…oh well.

With that done we did a “little” shopping for ourselves and friends/family (ok the shopping was first, but you get the idea).

SO MUCH CHOCOLATE!
SO MUCH CHOCOLATE!

 

Hubs and I each picked one of these up...at the hotel because it was actually cheaper....
Hubs and I each picked one of these up…at the hotel because it was actually cheaper….

On our final morning in Hershey I had planned to check out Zoo America. But my hip and back were not having anymore walking around. Sprout was done with vacation and she/he was taking my back and hip with her/him. So we headed for home with a lot of sweet memories. We’re looking forward to taking the wee one back to Hershey some day (when the park is open) and to share the fun with her/him.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.