What’s in a name anyway?

The hubs and I have begun chatting about names for the wee one. And of course we wonder about the following question from said kid down the road…

Yes, yes we did.
Yes, yes we did.

I mean I went through this as an older kid. I wasn’t happy with the name my parents picked for me. I won’t lie, I considered changing it. Of course I didn’t. In fact I learned to like my name. Though I do have moments where I do wish I had been named something else.

So what names are we looking at. Sorry folks, that’s between me and the hubs.

Though I want to know. Do you like your name? If not what would you want your name to be? I also want to know how you settled on your own kids name(s)? Let me know in the comments.

Author: galinthegreyhat

I am a wife, writer, photographer, and avid reader. This blog is about me...you've been warned.

3 thoughts on “What’s in a name anyway?”

  1. I’ve never been a fan of my name (Susan) because it was soooooooooooo horrifically common at the time and there’s not much you can do in the nickname department (unlike, say, Elizabeth, which has about 5,000 variants). There were four, count ’em, FOUR, Susans in my 2nd grade classroom alone (just my class, there were more throughout the grade, school, etc.), so we ended up being tagged by our last initial. So, I was “Susan G.”, there was “Susan P.” and “Susan H.”, etc. I felt like a number, like I was indistinguishable from everyone else, and even at 7 years old, I was NOT down with that! LOL

    Now I feel more like it’s a bit too “blah” for me. I started going by Suze on the internet back in 1996 or so. My kindergarten “boyfriend” (heh) used to call me that and I liked that it was different. Eventually, it bled over into my real life. I think of myself as “Suze”, not “Susan” (pretty much just my family calls me that these days). My mother threatened me with death if I actually changed it, but at least I found something that felt more *me*.

    It’s tough…you have no idea who this little person is going to become and you’re supposed to come up with their moniker-for-life. No pressure! I think, though, as long as you avoid stupid puns (Candy Lane, etc. – WHO DOES THAT TO THEIR CHILD???) or anything too outlandish, you’ll probably be okay. šŸ™‚

  2. #1 most common girl’s name in the late 70s, here. I experimented with different shortenings and spellings of my name before settling on “Jen” when I was 14, and that seemed to stick. There was a time when I would have liked a less common name, but there is a certain anonymity in the name I have, which is a blessing in disguise. I always remember the line from the first Mission: Impossible film when Max (a brilliant Vanessa Redgrave) says, “Anonymity is like a warm blanket.” Sometimes it’s good not to stand out.

  3. I’m not a big fan of my name, both because I am estranged from my family of origin and dislike carrying something they thought I should be called – but also because I don’t feel it fits me. I use nicknames to get a better fit – but will eventually be changing my legal first name to something else.

    As for my daughter’s name, we wanted something which was common enough to be recognizable but unique enough to not have it be super common. We also chose a gender-neutral name.

    The name we’ve picked out for kiddo #2 has recently jumped in popularity, which is slightly irksome, but it’s still a good choice for us. It’s also easily converted to a gender neutral nickname, which is nice.

    But honestly, whatever my kids want to call themselves (or change their names to) when they’re older is a-ok with me. A name is picked for a person long before their personality develops, and I’m sure I’ll be wrong at some point with one of them!

Comments are closed.